Welcome to UBS

16.02.2021 10:00 Uhr

We welcome UBS as our Main Sponsor!

Thomas Aegerter,
Regional Director UBS Basel

4 questions to Thomas Aegerter, Regional Director UBS Basel.
Thomas, the European Artistic Gymnastics Championships will be held in Basel for the first time and for the 5th time in Switzerland. You and your team have decided to support the European Artistic Gymnastics Championships Basel 2021 as a main sponsor. What is your motivation?

With the European Artistic Gymnastics Championships 2021, we are supporting top athletes who all started their career from scratch, who celebrated their first regional successes thanks to their skills, who made their breakthrough at national level with outstanding discipline and who are now competing internationally. Being a high-performance athlete requires great self-discipline, an extremely strong will and certainly a fair amount of courage. Since these are all qualities that also fit in with the values of our bank, I am very pleased that we were able to make this commitment.

The commitment of UBS as main sponsor is very important to us. It is furthermore an extremely important sign for our Host City Basel, but also throughout Switzerland. Times could not be more turbulent. We are of course very proud to have UBS on our side. What “return” are you hoping for with this commitment?

As the head of UBS in Basel, I think it’s great that the European Artistic Gymnastics Championships will be held in our city. UBS is a globally active major bank, but we have our roots in Basel. Sponsoring has a very long tradition at our bank and we like to support events in the city where we live, work and spend our free time – and more than 1400 UBS employees work and live in the region of Basel. It is important to me that we are not only perceived internationally, but also locally. An event held Basel with athletes from Switzerland and many other countries offers us an ideal platform for this.

What is your connection to artistic gymnastics? Did you do gymnastics yourself?

For me, managing all the exciting and challenging topics in my daily work is also a form of gymnastics. Seriously: I have never done gymnastics myself, my non-professional skills are clearly in the musical area. However, my wife and my children are active members of a gymnastics club and I’m thrilled by everything that this club offers and how good their team spirit is. But when it comes to gymnastics, I’m more of an enthusiastic spectator who admires the power, elegance and dynamics of this sport.

What are you looking forward to at the European Artistic Gymnastics Championships Basel 2021?

Five days full of sports highlights and great records. And to many exciting personal encounters. I hope the athletes will have successful, fair and, of course, accident-free competitions. And I’m wishing good luck to the entire organizing committee. I’ll keep my fingers crossed that the event can be held according to plan and that our region can enjoy an unforgettable sports experience.


Share
All news at a glance →

Welcome to UBS

16.02.2021 10:00 Uhr

Wir heissen die UBS als Hauptsponsor willkommen!

Thomas Aegerter,
Regionaldirektor UBS Basel

Vier Fragen an Thomas Aegerter, Regionaldirektor UBS Basel.

Thomas, die Kunstturn-EM findet 2021 erstmals in Basel statt und zum 5. Mal in der Schweiz. Du hast mit Deinem Team entschieden, die Kunstturn-EM Basel 2021 als Hauptsponsor zu unterstützen. Was ist Eure Motivation?

Mit der Kunstturn-EM 2021 unterstützen wir Top-Athleten, die alle mal klein angefangen, dank ihres Könnens erste regionale Erfolge gefeiert, mit einer hervorragenden Disziplin und einem bewundernswerten Durchhaltewillen den Durchbruch auf nationaler Ebene geschafft haben und nun international antreten. Hochleistungssportler zu sein erfordert eine grosse Selbstdisziplin, einen äusserst starken Willen und bestimmt auch eine gehörige Portion Mut. Da dies alles Eigenschaften sind, die auch zu den Werten unserer Bank passen, freut es mich sehr, dass wir dieses Engagement eingehen konnten.

Das Engagement der UBS als Hauptsponsor ist für uns wie ein Leuchtturm mit einer extrem wichtigen Signalwirkung in der Region Basel, aber auch in der ganzen Schweiz. Die Zeiten könnten nicht turbulenter sein. Wir sind natürlich sehr stolz, die UBS an unserer Seite zu wissen. Welchen «Return» erhoffst Du Dir mit diesem Engagement?

Als Leiter von UBS in Basel finde ich es natürlich toll, dass die Kunstturn- EM in unserer Stadt stattfindet. UBS ist zwar eine global tätige Grossbank, unsere Wurzeln haben wir jedoch in Basel. Sponsoring hat eine sehr lange Tradition bei unserer Bank und wir unterstützen gerne dort, wo wir leben, arbeiten, Freizeit verbringen – und in der Region Basel arbeiten und wohnen über 1400 UBSler. Es ist mir wichtig, dass wir nicht nur international, sondern auch lokal und regional wahrgenommen werden. Ein Anlass mitten in Basel mit Athleten aus der Schweiz und vielen anderen Ländern bietet uns dazu eine ideale Plattform.

Welchen Bezug hast Du zum Kunstturnen? Hast Du selbst mal geturnt?

All die spannenden und herausfordernden Themen in meinem Arbeitsalltag gleichzeitig zu bewältigen ist für mich auch eine Form von Turnkunst. Nein, im Ernst: Selbst habe ich nie geturnt, meine ausserberuflichen Fähigkeiten liegen klar im musikalischen Bereich. Allerdings sind meine Frau und meine Kinder aktiv in einem Turnverein und ich bin begeistert, was da alles geboten wird und wie gut der Zusammenhalt ist. Aber wenn es ums Turnen geht, bin ich eher der mitfiebernde Zuschauer, der die Kraft, Eleganz, und Dynamik bewundert.

Worauf freust Du Dich am meisten an der Kunstturn-EM Basel 2021?

Auf fünf Tage voller sportlicher Highlights und toller Rekorde. Und natürlich auch auf viele spannende, persönliche Begegnungen. Den Sportlerinnen und Sportlern wünsche ich bereits heute erfolgreiche, faire und natürlich unfallfreie Wettkämpfe. Und dem ganzen Organisationskomitee gutes Gelingen und viel Freude. Ich drücke die Daumen, dass der Anlass planmässig durchgeführt werden kann und unsere Region so in den Genuss eines unvergesslichen Sporterlebnisses kommt.


Artikel teilen
Alle news in der Übersicht →